The Most Annoying Gym Questions

So I’m not sure if I’m being too sensitive but I seem to be getting asked the most asinine questions either while at the gym or just whenever I’m out (usually when I’m wearing my gym clothes)

blrg

 

1 *while wearing workout clothes* Are you going to the gym?

Cut to me rolling my eyes Liz Lemon style.. Nope. I just put on these tight a** leggings, and sports bra that does no favors for my chest for the fun of it! I actually don’t mind wearing leggings (especially the ones I have from Lululemon because they are ridiculously comfy). So while I would absolutely live in my leggings if I could, odds are 9 times out of 10, I’m actually just going to the gym.

f29fa935f1f51573613cb9304481b9b5

2 Why are you wiping down the workout machine before using it?

Ok, how is this even a question? I thought everyone did this. Or am I just a bit OCD. I know for a fact (because I’ve seen countless times) that the majority of people at the gym do not wipe of the equipment after they use it. Think of all the sweat and bacteria that must have accumulated. Then imagine all that stranger’s sweat and bacteria on your hands, face, and MOUTH. Gross. I just can’t.

3551772_orig

3 WHOA! You’re lifting weights?!

Shock! Horror! A girl with dumbbells?! Stop the presses!!!

Like really guys. Why is this such a big deal? The most I even lift are 10 pound dumbbells and the 20 pound kettle bell. I had a guy stare at me for about 10 minutes one day (RUDE) before he asked me this question. Seriously awkward. I guess it doesn’t help that at my gym, the ladies barely come down onto the weight training floor. And after that experience I don’t blame them.

*aside – the gym is not a pick up joint (at least in my opinion). I’d at least wait until after we’re showered off and looking half way decent before I’d approach anyone.. just sayin

douchebag

4 So who are you losing the weight for?

I don’t mind if someone asks what are you losing the weight for , but I find this question particularly insulting because it implies that I’m not on this fitness journey for myself. That I’m changing myself because of someone else. And that implies low self esteem. Women in general deal with lower self esteem (myself included) and one of the reasons I’ve actually grown to like exercising is how I feel afterwards. After jogging/walking on the treadmill for an hour I feel awesome! Exhausted but still awesome and mostly proud that I could accomplish something I once thought was impossible. (my response to people who ask me this is silence, they get the message and move on)

fda18488690f4e26a04398991c6a4c07

5 Are you alright? Are you okay? You look like you’re about to kill someone

This question is definitely valid due to the fact that I have RBF (resting b*tch face). It’s a real problem guys! I don’t think I walk around looking angry but people have told me that before they actually got to know me, they thought I was… well… you can use your imagination.

Ok so rant over lol!

What annoying questions have you been asked about your workout? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

