15 Weeks Later…

 

Next week will mark 4 MONTHS since I began my fitness journey and I’m proud to say that I haven’t given up and I have made some amazing progress.

image2

As at yesterday, I have lost 22 pounds total since starting Kayla Itsines BBG program and since I decided to make a significant change in my health and well being. I am very happy with the amount that I have lost so far and I hope to lose a good deal more over the coming months but this journey is so much more than just the number on a scale.

I have formed healthy habits now that 4 months ago if you would have told me I’d be doing I’d think you honestly weren’t serious.

Every morning I now start my day with a 16oz glass of water, lemon juice, and apple cider vinegar. I’m serious when I say I do this EVERY SINGLE DAY. Sometimes I only have water with lemon or water with apple cider vinegar or sometimes I even add cayenne pepper to the mix to give it a bit of a kick. But the most important thing is that I do it consistently each day of the week.

image3

Aside from my rest days, usually taken on the weekend, I make sure to do a minimum of 30 minutes of cardio five days a week. This can be as easy as doing a dance workout I find on YouTube or as strenuous as one of Kayla’s workouts. I don’t let the 30 minutes limit me. I also often go beyond those 30 minutes. Whenever I have the time, I will walk/jog for up to an hour and a half. This past week I’ve done that 3 times. And I do this consistently every week.

image4

Eating right has probably been the biggest change that I have made in my life these past couple of months. It’s not that I’m even eating less. I actually eat more, just smaller meals and snacks. Those smaller meals are much healthier than I’ve eaten in the past. I drink about a 1 liter of green juice every day of the week, except on Sundays and I now snack primarily on fruits instead of packaged foods like chips or sugary sweets.

I no longer drink packaged fruit juice either (this is where I got a lot of the processed sugar in my diet from). I was never a huge soda drinker so I still allow myself the odd Coke or malt drink about once a week.

I have drastically cut down on processed carbohydrates like pasta and rice. I haven’t eaten rice for the past one week and I swear my stomach is less bloated because of it.

In a future post, I will give you a sample day of what my meals consist of.

Now I’m not going to lie to you. I still get cravings for high fat, sugary processed foods. The other day I started day dreaming about cupcakes (Sprinkles Cupcakes are my fav. I used to eat at least 3 a week when I was in the States). And I know if some how, someone was to bring to me a fresh steak burrito bowl from Chipotle, I’d probably tear into it lol. But that’s because I haven’t had those things in a long time. I also think, given all the hard work and progress I’ve made, I would not binge eat. Even on my cheat days, I don’t eat massive 1000 calorie meals. For example, on my last cheat day, I only had a cheat snack and it was 2 scoops of cake batter ice cream from Coldstone (God it was good!). But what did I eat for dinner that day? I ate fruit and drank a glass of green juice. Why? Because I now I have the will power and self control to know that a little treat is all I need. I need to eat to live not live to eat.

To anyone reading this and debating whether or not they can do it… YES YOU CAN!

All it takes is consistency, will power, and determination.

Think Mind over Matter.

The human mind is an incredible thing. You can will yourself to do things you would not think you were capable of doing. Your progress begins once you start. Find a support person or group (I LOVE THE BBG COMMUNITY FOR THEIR SUPPORT). And be like Nike and JUST DO IT. Lol!

If you have any questions always feel free to contact me :

coffeeandcrunches.bbg@gmail.com

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Fed says:

    That’s an impressive result for 4 months – well done 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! Really appreciate your support.

      Like

  2. Kudos to you, I am proud of your achievements particularly been in an environment where there is so much junk food , it is no small task at all to have lost such in 4 months and also to be consistent . Well done.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! It wasn’t easy. But consistency is key!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are right. Consistency is very key.

        Like

Leave a Reply

