A Lighter Option For Brunch

Healthier versions of my favorite brunch meals…

This morning I woke up with the most random craving… Pancakes. I think it’s because I haven’t gone out for brunch since last year (that alone deserves a medal lol.. I’m usually the first one at the brunch buffet at 11am sharp) I’m honestly not even a pancake person. I’d take a plate full of waffles or French toast (the bruleed French toast on the brunch menu at the Cheesecake Factory is my absolute fav… it also comes in at a wopping 2,780 calories, 93 grams of saturated fat, and 2,230 mg of sodium). I knew it was a decadent meal but I never realized just how bad for you that plateful of tasty goodness really is! Luckly.. we don’t have the Cheescake Factory over here so there’s no chance of me eating that anytime in the near future

What I am starting to realize is that a huge part of weight loss (like 70 – 80%) is based on what you eat. I am slowly struggling to learn this. Before embarking on my weight loss journey I focused more on exercise than nutrition. I could go to the gym for 2 hours in the morning and eat a large pepperoni pizza by myself for dinner. Sigh.. talk about an epic fail! By eating that pizza loaded with carbs, sodium, and saturated fats I was virtually cancelling out all the hard work I had put in at the gym. I was probably even gaining more weight because whenever I’d exercise for long periods of time, I’d feel the need to eat more. That’s one thing I like about Kayla’s BBG program. I have yet to spend 2 hours going all out at the gym. I just follow her guide six days a week and in 30 mins – 1 hour I’m done. I don’t follow her eating plan because: 1) I’m cheap and don’t want to pay for it lol and 2) I either can’t find a lot of the ingredients that are in her eating plan where I live or the ingredients I do find are too expensive to buy on a regular basis because they are imported

Anyways, I was thinking that there has to be some way to still enjoy some of my brunch favorites without the guilt (or at least a little less guilty). I set out to find some healthier alternatives and here are the ones I personally found most enticing..

Prep time  |  5 mins
Cook time | 20 mins
Total time | 25 mins
 Serves      |  4
Ingredients –
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup whole milk plain Greek style yogurt
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • ½ cup blueberries (frozen or fresh)
  • butter for pan
Instructions –
  1. Whisk together flour, cinnamon, baking powder and salt in a large mixing bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl, beat together honey, milk, yogurt and eggs; add to dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Do not over mix. Fold in blueberries
  3. Heat skillet over medium heat. Add just enough butter to coat skillet.
  4. Ladle batter in ⅓ cups onto hot skillet, swirl batter to create circle about 6-inches round. Cook until bubbles begin to appear in the batter. Carefully flip then cook until done, about another 1-2 minutes. Adjust cook time if necessary. Repeat for remainder of batter adding butter to skillet when needed.

Prep Time   |  5 mins
Cook Time  |  3 mins
Total Time |  8 mins
Serves         | 4
Dry Ingredients –
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 4 scoops vanilla Aloha protein powder (or any protein powder of your choice)
  • ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
Wet Ingredients
  • 2 eggs, large
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • ¾ cup almond milk, unsweetened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Instructions

  1. Begin by preheating your waffle iron to medium.
  2. Next, in a large bowl, mix together the wet ingredients.
  3. Then, add in dry ingredients and stir until combined.
  4. Once waffle maker is completely heated, lightly spray with non-stick cooking spray (prefereably coconut oil cooking spray) on both sides. Then, pour about ½ cup of batter onto waffle maker, close, and flip. Let cook for about 1 and ½ to 2 minutes. Flip waffle maker and open. If it needs a little be more time to cook, close and flip over, let cook for about 20-30 seconds longer.
  5. Use non-stick tongs to remove waffle from iron.
Nutrition Information
Serving size: 1 waffle Calories: 284  Fat: 13g Carbohydrates: 28g Sugar: 3g Fiber: 6g Protein: 16g
cf6157220255bfb2_baked-overnight-french-toast-xxxlarge_2x
Photo Courtesy: Popsugar Fitness

 

Prep Time | 10 mins
Cook Time | 8 mins
Total Time | 18 mins
Serves | 2

Ingredients –

2 slices Ezekiel cinnamon raisin bread
2/3 cup egg whites
1 cup blueberries
1 tsp. Splenda
1 pinch of salt
Cooking oil spray
Sugar-free syrup

Instructions –

Whisk egg whites, milk, Splenda and salt. Soak the bread in the mixture. Heat skillet with cooking spray. Cook bread one slice at a time until light brown. Top with berries and sugar-free syrup.

*323 Calories per serving.

 

I hope to try an make ALL these recipies soon.. but until then, tomorrow I will be treating myself to The Green Grill House’s whole wheat waffles. Yum.. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

