Healthy Food Options in Lagos

When I moved back to Nigeria in the summer or 2008 there were very few healthy options to enjoy. I honestly can’t remember anything really. Fast forward 8 years and I’m so happy to have discovered numerous juice and smoothie bars, healthy grocery stores and even vegan food delivery options.

I wanted to share some of the places that I have become familiar with. I’m very proud of how far Lagos has come in terms of its healthy eating options.

First on the list…

Simply Green Juice (simplygreenjuice.com)

920628_d9b19affc58a4defa3e466f12df2f4e1
Photo courtesy of Simply Green Juice

This is the first healthy option I encountered since moving back to Lagos. This is a raw organic cold pressed juice company that currently offers 5 different types of juices and 3 different cleanse plans ranging from a simple three day plan to a deep cleansing 7 day plan. They also recently opened a store where you can buy the prepackaged juices or have a freshly pressed one made while you wait. They also offer wheat grass shots which I think is a first for Lagos. I have never had one anywhere else here. What I really like about this place is that the owner sources his produce from his own farm so you can be assured that everything is all natural and fresh.

FullSizeRender-16
Cleanse Intense” is my fav

Smoothie Express (smoothieexpress.com.ng)

dsc_0106
Photo courtesy of Smoothie Express

This healthy smoothie delivery companies is one of my faves! They have an incredibly large variety of smoothie options and their menu is packed with so many different blends its sometimes so hard for me to choose one, I end up getting 2 or 3. Their ingredients vary from ugwu (fluted pumpkin – a favorite among Nigerians and our native vegetable) to passion fruit, beet root, and mango to name just a few. My favorites are the fitness blends, in particular ‘The Hulk Strawberry’ blend and ‘The Activator Chocolate’ blend because they include protein powder and are still relatively low in calories I can enjoy them guilt free post workout. In addition to smoothies, they also offer a variety of healthy salads ranging from avocado to chicken and spicy shrimp. Another great thing about this company is their free Thursday delivery. Believe me when I say that nothing comes for free in Lagos, but this is a very welcome exception to the rule lol

FullSizeRender-17.jpg
“The Activator Chocolate” smoothie blend post workout

Nuli Juice (nulijuice.com)

2638b9_b22299b0f36a4fcb92677f29368818ef
These juices are part of their Signature Cleanse

Nuli Juice is cold pressed juice company that features 8 different juices. I love the wide variety that they have and the unique combinations. I recently had one called “The Dr. Nuli” that had pineapple, ginger, cayenne pepper and apple cider vinegar. If you’ve checked out my recipes page you’ll know that I am a huge fan of apple cider vinegar and all its benefits, so this was a great find for me. The company also offers five juice cleanses ranging from a one day cleanse to a five day cleanse. While they deliver, I’ve seen them stocked at my favorite coffee shop Café Neo as well as at Green Grill House.

IMG_9462.JPG
This is the one that I love that has apple cider vinegar

 

 

Fig Health Store (fighealthstore.com.ng)

FullSizeRender-18.jpg
Small haul from the Fig Health Store

The Fig Health Store is the first all natural organic food supermarket I have come across in Lagos. It’s like a mini Whole Foods Market or a Trader Joes. When I walked in there for the first time I was shocked. In a good way. They had so many natural products from organic whole wheat pastas, granola, muesli, oatmeal, rice cakes, flower, teas and snacks. They also stock a wide range of natural skin care products, even offering their own line of soaps and body butters. Its also one of the few places that sells my favorite brand of apple cider vinegar. Now that really is hard to find in Lagos.

Green Grill House (Instagram: @greengrillhouse)

IMG_9564.JPG
A small serving of pasta salad and a Simply Green juice I had for lunch

This is my newest find. I was referred here by a friend who told me that they serve an all day waffle breakfast and that the waffles are all natural made with oat flour and are sugar free. When I got there I also discovered that they have salad bar, a smoothie bar, and an assortment of cold pressed juices delivered fresh each day from a couple of my favorites on this list (Simply Green Juices and Nuli Juices). Green Grill House has become my go to spot for quick healthy lunch time meals. I no longer go to fast food outlets anymore because of this place. So glad I found it!

There are now so many more natural and healthy options now in Lagos that I haven’t tried them all. I will continue to discover and post here any other ones I find that I like.

If you live in Lagos, please check them out. If you know someone that lives in Lagos, please let them know that these places exist.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Amore, wow, wow!!! I am highly impressed that Lagos has evolved this far , I can’t believe what I am reading. This is quite good. Thanks for this highly informative post. I love the organic store.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Will be posting more places once I find them.

      Like

  2. Tatiana says:

    You should try Happy Healthy Food! Their snacks are so delicious and super healthy. Their instagram is _happyhealthyfood

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

