5K Training Plan

635845200979031950-1693487873_2016yay

Happy 2016!!!

As I write this, I’m still a little bit buzzed from the champagne I drank last night lol

And yes I know it’s January 3rd but it’s a long weekend so why not continue the celebrations.

Well, I’m paying for it now. I’ve spent the last couple of days surrounded by good people, good food, and good drinks… many many good drinks.

But sadly all good things must come to an end and tomorrow it’s back to reality so I decided to use today to schedule my week so that I’ll be less inclined to miss a workout.

One of the goals I would like to achieve within the first 6 months of this year is to run a 5k. I’ve never been an avid runner and I’m not sure if it’s down to the fact that I’m not really conditioned to run or that I just don’t like running. I’ve been looking up articles all morning, even looking at apps on how to go from the couch to running a 5k.

One article that really stuck out for me was an article from POPSUGAR’s fitness blog.

a14b8fed_first5kpost_final_3_20

They give you a six week running plan that seems the least intimidating out of all the plans I’ve seen online. I plan to tweak it a bit and extend the number of minutes (i.e. follow the directions for that day for the first 30 minutes and walk for another 30 minutes afterwards, just because I need to do more cardio anyways).

They also have an 8 week plan to go from a walker to a runner but I prefer this 6 week plan instead.

Wish me luck!!

Also, if anyone reading has run a 5k or 10k I’d really appreciate any advice you have. Thanks!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Fed says:

    Good luck with your plan! 🙂

    Like

  2. slowrunnergirl says:

    Hi from Ireland! I used the app endomondo and their c25k plan and really liked it. Give yourself time and run slow in the beginning 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the info will check out that app!

      Like

      1. slowrunnergirl says:

        I also found this helpful as a reminder to not take it too fast this time and it shows an easy structure to follow http://breakingmuscle.com/running/week-week-guide-becoming-runner-later-life-andor-safely (I am 36 so it applied to me 😦 )

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I just downloaded the c25k app and i’m very excited to start using it tomorrow. The breakingmuscle article was really informative as well. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

