5 Ways to Motivate Yourself to Exercise

inspirational-workout-quotes-swvrmo4x

There are so many ways to motivate your self. What you have to figure out is what works for you. Everyone’s different so what works for your friend may not work for you.

For example, no matter how hard I try, I cannot motivate myself to workout early in the morning. But my sister has no problem going for a five mile run at 5:30 am in the morning. Even in the winter! In New Jersey! By the waterside! That’s cold + wind. I’ll pass on that thanks.

I have found some ways to motivate myself and I’m now able to fit at least 30 minutes of cardio 5 days a week. It took me YEARS to do this. I’m not over exaggerating. I’m the queen of excuses lol. If the weather’s bad I’d make an excuse. If I was sore from the previous days workout I’d make an excuse. Even when I lived in apartment with a full gym just six floors down I’d make an excuse.

So now that I’ve found ways to make myself get off my butt and exercise, I’d like to share them with you. Hopefully they’ll work for you too!

  1. Wear a fitness tracker
fitbits
Fitbit Trackers.. My favs

This is probably the most motivating thing for me. I bought a Fitbit Zip about a year ago and recently updated to a Fitbit Charge HR. Being able to track my steps, my heart rate, calories burned, and even my sleep has kept me pushing further. I also added a couple of friends and we have friendly challenges each week to see who’s taken the most steps. There’s also a fun ‘cheer’ and ‘taunt’ button you can use to mess with your friends too

  1. Take before and after pictures

I just started doing this because I saw that a lot of people on their fitness blogs and Instagram accounts would do this as a way to not only motivate themselves, but others as well.

By doing this you’ll be able to clearly see just how far you’ve come and that will give you motivation to either maintain or continue until you’ve reached your goals.

Others will see you and will start believing that they can do it too.

  1. Exercise at a time that suits YOU and your lifestyle

I know myself well enough to know that I am not a morning person. No matter how early I get to bed, my energy level is so low when I get up; it’s often a challenge to drag myself into the shower in the mornings. During the day I gradually get more energy, not necessary from food or coffee, I just tend to feel better and more motivated about 3 hours after I wake up. Because of this, I prefer to do my workouts around 10am or much later at night, around 9pm. When I work out at these times I tend to work out longer than if I had to do an 8 am workout (*I work from home so I can leave my desk for an hour or two to do this)

  1. Do what you enjoy

exercise

Do exercise that you enjoy!!! Ok, so I’m not happy with my midsection and I HATE doing sit ups so instead of dwelling on them, I do overall cardio that helps to burn the fat off my midsection. About a week ago, I started doing Jillian Michael’s Body Revolution workouts and even though I only spent about a minute on abs for the entire 30 minute workout, I definitely felt it in my stomach the next day

So go ahead and do what you like. Boxing, yoga, Pilates, running. As long as you get your heart rate pumping and blood flowing, you’re good!

  1. Set a milestone goal

untitled-2

For me, I decided that within the first six months of 2016, I would run a 5k (no stopping, no walking, run the whole way through) and within the last six months run a 10K. This is my personal milestone. By setting this, it keeps me motivated to run at least 3-4 days a week to better help condition and prepare myself for the races I know that I WILL do next year (knock on wood.. fingers crossed lol).

I know someone who wants to do a triathlon and I know someone that just wants to be able to run a mile. So remember everyone is different. Our bodies are different. Our goals are different so what motivates us will be different. Find what works for you and go for it! Good luck!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

