Health Benefits of Papaya (aka Paw Paw)

Last weekend I went to an event called ‘Naturals in the City’ here in Lagos and I was SUPER impressed with the entrepreneurs and their products. One lady I met owns a farm where everything grown there is all natural and organic. At her stand she was selling papaya (*here in Africa, and I believe in Asia as well, it’s called paw paw), a tasty fruit I used to eat often as a child but I haven’t eaten in many years even though it grows abundantly in this tropical region.

So I bought some and the next day when I was craving pancakes, waffles, and all the other sugary goodies one eats at brunch, I instead cut up the papaya and had that instead.

Inside the papaya fruit

It was legit THE BEST papaya I’ve eaten. So good that I wondered, how many calories am I stuffing into my face thinking, “it’s healthy its organic it’s a FRUIT” lol. Once I was done, I had to do my research *always do your research, always get a second opinion on anything anyone tells you

Here’s what I found out…

Papayas – nicknamed “the fruit of the angels” by explorer Christopher Columbus

  • Help to boost immunity – A single papaya fruit can fulfill more than 200% of your daily Vitamin C requirement
  • Good for your eyes – Rich in Vitamin A and flavonids like beta-carotene, zeaxanthin, cyptoxanthin and lutein. These keep the mucus membranes in the eyes healthy and prevent damage. The Vitamin A also helps to prevent the development of age related macular degeneration (I was diagnosed with glaucoma at a very young age, so this fruit will definitely be staying in my diet).
  • Improves digestion – Has a digestive enzyme known as papain along with fiber which helps to improve your digestive health
  • Helps ease menstrual pain – The same digestive enzyme, papain helps in regulating and easing flow during one’s menstrual cycle
  • Prevents signs of aging – Rich in Vitamins C, E and anti oxidants like beta carotene which helps prevent your skin from free radical damage and wrinkles
  • Papaya seeds – have been proven natural remedy for many ailments in traditional medicines. The seeds are anti-inflammatory, anti parasitic and analgesic and can be used to treat stomachache and ring worm infections
  • Only 120 calories!!! – One medium sized papaya is low in calories and is a great snack at anytime of the day

With all the goodness in one fruit I don’t know why I waste my time eating anything else lol!

Leave a Reply

